For Want of Humility

November 28, 2010

Bible Study, Christianity, Gospel

I’ve been quite quiet on this blog for some time now.  That anyone is still tuning in from time to time is humbling.  Thanks to all that stop by.

I felt particularly compelled tonight to post something about what I’ve been thinking about lately.  I’ve been considering Galatians 2:20:

20 I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.

I’ve read this a hundred times in the past and its always been an awe inspiring passage for me.  This verse says a lot: death and life, faith and love, spirit and flesh.  So much Christian truth in a short space. 

But, if I’m honest, I’ve always had the sense that I wasn’t able to internalize this part of scripture.  Its hard to explain.  At once feeling union with Christ because of the power of this passage, I’ve also felt separation as if I still didn’t know what to do.  OK, Christ lives in my heart but what do I do now.  I guess since He’s taken up residence in me I’d better get out there and do some work.  “Lord, tell me what I need to do.”

So much of what we do is pride centered.  Doing things with our ultimate benefit in sight.  While Christians have a genuine core desire to please God, I think some assuage their guilty pride by putting forth effort in the form of Christian works.  Seeking validation, many things are done to gain favor with God and satisfy individual ends in the process.  And if I may go further, if  some seemingly Godly things are accomplished then often  pride can justify taking certain liberties to satisfy personal lusts.  Nothing awful, mind you, just some respectable sins (I am, of course, speaking from personal experience).

But the other night, something clicked for me.  I’ll simply try to state what I think and let you all dwell on it yourself.  For the first time I recognized the significance of what this passage actually is saying.  If we are saved and have given our lives to Christ (as we should), then we are truly dead.  We have died with Christ. Our eternal state, as God sees it, is one of white robes and a new nature; the nature of Christ which is being accomplished in us through the ongoing sanctifying work of the Holy Spirit.  Our fleshly desires are impotent, Christ’s desires are paramount.  Now its not what can I do for Christ, but what is Christ going to choose to do through me.  And, not really so much “through”, but rather Christ is just going to flat out live His life in this my body.  The Church is truly the body of Christ.

That said, consider also the following passage from the book “The Master’s Indwelling” by Andrew Murray:

“Waiting upon God,” – that is the only true expression for the real relation of the creature to God; to be  nothing before God.  What is the essential idea of a creature made by God?  It is this: to be a vessel in which He can pour out His fullness, in which He can exhibit His life, His goodness, His power, and His love.  A vessel must be empty if it is to be filled, and if we are to be filled with the life of God we must be utterly empty of self.  This is the glory of God, that He is to fill all things, and more especially His redeemed people.  And as this is the glory of the creature, so this is the only redemption, and the only glory of every redeemed soul, to be empty and as nothing before God; to wait upon Him, and to let God be all in all. 

God, please empty me of self and insert humility.  You are humility.  You are the meek Lamb given for our sins.

, ,

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “For Want of Humility”

  1. Daniel Threlfall Says:

    Excellent post. What a necessary reminder.

    Reply

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. For Want of Humility | A Pauper's Pen & Parcel | michaelspieles.com - November 28, 2010

    […] Visit link: For Want of Humility | A Pauper's Pen & Parcel […]

Leave a Reply

