A New Read!

June 30, 2010

Eschatology, Theology

The Israel of God, by O. Palmer Robertson

I began reading this book, in earnest, yesterday.  If you’ve followed this blog at all you know I have an appetite for reading.  But just as my mom always thought my eyes were too big for my stomach when it came to eating, so to are my expectations for covering the many different volumes I want to read.  Within reformed circles there is a sea of great theological, historical, puritan, and Christian living books.  I’ve got a shelf full of titles that I’ve barely even touched.  This year, at the beginning, I set a fairly ambitious reading plan touching on several works dealing with eschatology.  In the providence of God, however, my agenda was significantly changed.  Along with the PCRT, that this year dealt with end things, the unfolding eschatology throughout the Bible, I’ve been able to read and listen to some of Kenneth Gentry’s perspective, dealing with partial preterism.  They weren’t in the original plan, but I was blessed to be exposed to these areas of thought.  Hoekema and Riddlebarger are still on the shelf, but, as good as they are, will have to wait until later in the year.  My list is already queued up to ten books; I’m not going to add any more until I see how these go.  Perhaps I’ll blog the list in a few days, but suffice to say I want to look at several other things in addition to this year long focus on eschatology.  Blog posts for the current book will likely be intermixed with other things, but I’ll paste them all together for continuity’s sake under the “Current Read” tab at the top.  If you’re interested in this book feel free to drop a comment or two.

, , ,

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

